Sharon Logo

Teaching Children Training

Home Page  |  Back to Teaching Children Index

Spiritual Teaching Aims

We want to grow Spiritually!

Children of differ widely in their characteristics according to their ages, understanding and maturity.  For this reason many Churches divide children into three age-groups:

  1.  Primaries (Preschool and Grades 1-2 or 3 to 8 years of age).

  2.  Intermediates (Grades 3 and 4 or 9-10 years of age).

  3.  Juniors (Grade 5 and above or 11 plus years of age).

The following characteristics will assist you in working with these age groups.  This will ensure that the Lessons you give, address the children's spiritual needs appropriately.


Under-8 Year Old Children:

  1.  Jesus and God are Persons who love and care for them.

  2.  The Bible is the book that tells us about God and Jesus.

  3.  God wants children to be good and to obey and please their parents.


9-10 Year Old Children:

  1.  God loves everybody and as God's helper they should show love to others.

  2.  God made the world and that the Bible is God's Word to love and obey.

  3.  Jesus is God's Son who lived and died to make us good.

  4.  God is pleased when we do right, but will forgive us when we do wrong.

  5.  Bible stories, especially those that feature children and the family.


11-Plus Year Old Children:

  1.  Jesus died on the Cross for our sins and we need Him as Saviour.

  2.  How to develop a daily habit of prayer and reading a Bible passage.

  3.  How to apply the Bible principles to their daily living.

  4.  How the Bible came to us and how to read Bible maps.

  5.  Bible stories especially those with adventure and heroes or heroines.

Use these pointers to help you address the Spiritual needs of your class and guide your lesson preparation and prayers for their Salvation and growth.

God bless!


Copyright © Sharon Children's Ministries

Home Page  |  Back to Teaching Children Index